This page contains errata and corrections for the Et sans résultat! Series 3 Rulebook. We also maintain an FAQ for ESR Series 3. If you think you’ve spotted an error or believe something should be added to the FAQ or errata, you can submit it to us here. Thank you for your contributions!
The Age of Napoleon
Major Factions, Turkey, Devlet-i ‘Aliye-i ‘Osmaniye
The narrative states the “…Baltic Serbs revolt in 1804…” but this is incorrect, the Balkan Serbs revolt in 1804.
The Player’s Guide
Quick Start Guide, Phase Three: Combat, Step 2: Threat, Status/Recovery
The number of Cohesion tallied for the Formation in the example is ‘8’ but indicated as ‘7’ in the example, this doesn’t change the example’s conditions or conclusions, it just means we failed to do very basic math in a very public way that one time.
Command: 2.3.1.Withdraw [W] Directive
NOTE: This also impacts 2.4.1.Retreat [RT] Status, 2.4.2.Break [BK] Status, and 9.1.Status Checks
The rules as written state that a Formation on an active Withdraw [W] Directive or a Retreat [RT] or Break [BK] Status moves the Regulating Unit and then all other Units must attempt to remain Cohesive. Generally speaking, a player will want to extricate a Formation in this condition from enemy Threat and will take this opportunity to disengage. However, it is possible to ‘game’ this mechanic, by selecting a Regulating Unit that can be moved to a Cohesive location and then choosing either not to move any other Units, or even advancing the other Units into Threat to accomplish a perceived advantage.
To address this:
Any time Formations with an active Withdraw [W] Directive or Retreat [RT] or Broken [BK] Status move, all Units must move directly away from Threat attempting to exist all Threat Zones, while remaining Cohesive with the Regulating Unit.
There is also a clarification regarding committed, unlimbered Artillery Units:
When a Formation Converts to a Withdraw [W] Directive, committed, unlimbered Artillery Batteries may limber and move to remain Cohesive or remain unlimbered and not move, at the choice of the controlling player.
Command: 2.3.2.Attack [A] Directive
This is a clarification and a rules change. Strikethroughs indicate text removed. Italics indicate new text.
fullyployed, the Formation may remain stationary during the Conversions, Moves Step andbut must deploy the maximumall resulting Units during the Ploy/Deploy Step.
The material rule change is that previously a Formation on an active Attack [A] Directive was required to be fully ployed to choose to remain stationary and deploy. This meant that after a single turn of required deployment, the Formation no longer met the criteria and therefore had to begin moving forward. The rule now reads: “If ployed…” and this is intended to refer to both fully and partially ployed Formations. Thus, a Formation on an active Attack [A] Directive may remain stationary and deploy until fully deployed, at which time it must comply with its Attack [A] Directive by moving.
Additionally there is a clarification of the verbiage regarding how many Units will be deployed. In exchange for the Formation remaining stationary while on an Attack [A] Directive it is required to deploy all the Units it can, but must still make a Deploy roll to do so. The previous naturally text led some players to believe this deployment was automatic which is incorrect.
Command: 2.4.3.Reform [RM] Status
Clarifications regarding this Status:
- The Status is triggered when the Leader Action: Reform & Reorganize is successfully performed targeting the Formation as indicated (2.4.3).
- The allowed movement is performed immediately upon this Status taking effect, during the Command Phase.
- The Formation’s Units do not move during the Movement Phase while the Formation is on this Status.
- Units which move to become closer to the Regulating Unit may not contact the enemy.
- To remove the Reform Status, a new Directive must be issued and successfully activated, per 3.3.Reform & Reorganize.
Command: 3.2.1.Take Personal Command
Per 1.1.1.Command Modifiers an Army or Force Commander’s Command Bonus is not applied to a target if the Commander is currently In Personal Command of a different Formation. The fourth paragraph of 3.2.1 incorrectly refers to only Leader Actions not receiving the issuing Commander’s Command Bonus when attempting a Command Test, but should to apply to all Command Tests, whether for a Leader Action, an order activation, or any other event.
The test below replaces the fourth paragraph and makes 3.2.1 consistent with 1.1.1. Strikethroughs indicate text removed. Italics indicate new text.
- Army and Force Commanders In Personal Command of a Formation may still attempt Command Tests targeting other Commanders and Formations
for Leader Actionsbut may not use their Command Bonus.
Movement: 5.1.4.Status Conversions
The Fatigue-to-Cohesion Ratios stated here are incorrect and should be:
- <1 1/2:1 Convert from Break [BK] to Retreat [RT]
- <1:1 Convert from Retreat [RT] to Withdraw [W] if Threatened or to Defend [D] if not Threatened
These ratios are also given [correctly] on The Quick Reference Guide as well as elsewhere in The Player’s Guide and are correct everywhere but here (5.1.4).
Combat: 8.4.How to Assess Threat
There is an error (typo) on the Threat Assessment Table shown on page 73 at the end of 8.4.How to Assess Threat. It should read:
UnlimberedLimbered Artillery contacted by the enemy rolls 1D6: ≤4 Routs, 5-6 Retires.
Both 8.7.3.Limbered Artillery Contacted and the Quick Reference Guide available for download have the correct text.