Clear all

Running a game at a gaming event

3 Posts
2 Users
2 Likes
(@mj-martino481gmail-com)
Active Member Customer
Topic starter  

Any tips for running ESR at a game con? Our local one happens in May, and I'd like to see if I can run something. I think the customary time slots are 4 hours, though they may allow a game to run across two time slots. That said, I'd rather keep it within the basic time. I'm looking for things like tips for managing a half dozen players who may have never heard of ESR, let alone played. Suggestions for extra play aids to help the players. Recommendations for scenarios that will engage six or so players, but without using the more complex rules.

Keep in mind that I'm also a rookie with ESR (though this won't be my first gaming rodeo). In the coming months there will be a few opportunities to playtest any scenario with some members of my local club, so I won't be going in cold. 

David reacted
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin

Hello!

Running ESR can be a lot of fun. I'd strongly encourage planning to stay in the convention's 4-hour time slot as it isn't difficult to run an ESR game inside that timeframe and longer than that you have to worry a lot more about player fatigue.

Our introductory games are setup for four players and scheduled for 3-4 hours.

Fictional scenarios are *much* easier to run in this sort of setting than a historical one. A fictional scenario allows you to guarantee all the players are involved quickly, while using nominally similar Armies for each side, and prevents the need of a set-piece battle where all the cool decisions have already been made.

Four players is a good number of an introductory game. There will be a lot of questions and more than four players can make it difficult to both give the players the necessary attention while keeping the game moving. If you need to go larger than four, I'd strongly discourage going above six.