Clear all

ESR Napoleonics for solo play

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@agathosdaimon)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I am kind of new to napoleonic miniatures wargaming. I have played napoleonic wargames on PC for years but my desire is really now to just do it sans computer - with rules and miniatures, be they paper or plastic ones and I am looking for ideal rules that one could adapt to solo play, which is what my preference is.

I dont know anything about ESR so would like to know if this system can be adapted to solo well or not. I am really wanting something that can combine battles and operational level activities that i could delve into and yes i know the limitations of solo play but it satisfies me as even just purely simulation and attempted recreations.

There are just so many rulesets I cant work out what is best, though i am attracted to having some physical book of rules. I dont like reading pdfs from my computer screen,

thank you

(@uncleleo)

Why not ?  The emphasis is less tactical so you would not have turns composed of little more than die rolling.  As an orders based system, by definition this means you can't just adjust for one side based on what you know the other is doing.  i think that makes a better solitaire game.  Also - IMO many scenarios reward patience, which can make for a sort of mid-game stall in the action that solo play simplifies if you condense "attacker isn't doing anything until x arrives, and defender waits"

i've solitaired this in a few scenarios just to learn the game - and because Covid put the kibosh on my live gaming groups.  it worked out fine and also allowed exploration of more daring approaches one might not be able to play with live opponents.

in short - the rules are stupid cheap right now.  buy em and try em.

ReplyQuote
(@agathosdaimon)
Trusted Member
Topic starter