[Solved] Supported Formation gone, what does support do?  

  RSS

ESR Yahoo Group
(@esr-yahoo-group)
Trusted Member Customer
Joined: 7 months ago
Posts: 97
30/12/2018 9:31 pm  

We had the situation where an infantry Formation on Support lost the Formation it was supporting due to a Status Check break (it was all cavalry).

In our reading of the rules, we said the Formation could convert from Support to Attack or Defend during an Order Conversion step, and if the commander wanted the Formation on any other order (i.e., not Attack or Defend), he would have to Issue and Activate said order during the following Command phases.

Did we get this right?

-Yahoo Group, 5/18/18


Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 7 months ago
Posts: 193
30/12/2018 9:31 pm  

Yes, that is correct.

-David


ReplyQuote
LordHollier
(@lordhollier)
Active Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 14
30/06/2019 10:15 am  

As a follow on to the original question....

The original post says "could convert" - if the supported Formation is no longer on the table, MUST they convert? 

Is this different if the supported Formation is still on the table, but in a Retreat or Broken status?


David liked
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 7 months ago
Posts: 193
30/06/2019 11:05 am  

The original post says "could convert" - if the supported Formation is no longer on the table, MUST they convert?

If the Formation being supported is removed, then the supporting Formation must convert to something, but they whether they convert to Attack [A] or Defend [D] is up to the player.

If the Formation being supported Breaks [BK] or Retreats [RT] then no conversion would be required.

-David


ReplyQuote
LordHollier
(@lordhollier)
Active Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 14
30/06/2019 4:28 pm  

And in the case where the supported Formation is RT or BK, and the supporting Formation is now closer to the objective than the supported Formation (i.e., no longer to the side or rear of the supported Formation)?

Do they have to move away from the objective to bring themselves back into correct alignment with the supported Formation?


David liked
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 7 months ago
Posts: 193
30/06/2019 4:34 pm  

Do they have to move away from the objective to bring themselves back into correct alignment with the supported Formation?

Yes.

Obviously some would argue the supporting Formation should be able to retire remaining between the enemy and the Retreating [RT] or Broken [BK] Formation, but finding historical examples of one Formation shadowing another to screen (effectively) the rout of another is pretty rare. Rear guards for routs and retreats normally related to terrain and landmarks, not masses of demoralized friendly troops. So, in the case that you wanted the supporting Formation to stay between the Reteating [RT] or Broken [BK] Formation and the Force's objective – which we presume is toward the enemy, then it would be best to convert them to Attack [A] or Defend [D].

-David


ReplyQuote
Share: