[Solved] Who performs Leader Actions?
I am a little uncertain about which leaders do Leader actions. Do only army and force commanders or do formation commanders have actions. For example, a formation has an uncommitted battery, does the force commander commit the battery or can the formation commander commit a battery? I ask because of the leader action modifiers. If the force commander takes the action it is his LR as the issuer and the formation commander's LR as the receiver. While if the formation commander takes the action, I assume his LR is used as the issuer and receiver?
-Yahoo Group, 7/20/17
Leader Actions are only performed by an Army or Force Commander (3.8). A Formation Commander is only ever the receiver of a Leader Action.
Kind of picked this up from the online tutorial, it was not obvious to me when reading the rules.
Just to clarify:
In the tutorial leader actions originated at whichever level the army had a player in the scenario set up.
SO its Borodino. One player per corps, Davout instructs one of his divisional commanders to commit an artillery battery. Davout keeps up the leader actions til he fails.
Or second set up. Not so many players so each player is a 'wing commander' as per the scenario set up. In this set up Murat would reach past one of his corps commanders - say Nansouty - to one of Nansouty's divisional commanders and instruct him to conduct a leader action, repeating til he fails or does not want to continue.
Or third set up. Two really unpopular wargamers don't any friends so decide to run Borodino as the army commanders. So Napoleon would reach past Davout to one of his divisional commanders to instruct a leader action, repeating til he fails or does not want to continue.
Am I right?
Thanks Steve Nutt
Not quite. So, as ESR is a perspective based game, the intent is that there is one player per:
• Army Commander
• Force Commander
Obviously, in some situations, either by choice or consequence, this won't be the case – but that is the design perspective. So whatever Army and Force Commanders are present, can conduct Leader Actions and those are *intended* to be mapped 1:1 with players. If, however, you are running two corps (Forces) and therefore you are representing two corps commanders (Force Commanders), you would have two personalities who could perform Leader Actions.
The only time a division commander would perform a Leader Action is when the scenario defines a division as a Formation – examples would include Mir in 1812, some of the battles of the Ulm campaign in 1805, etc…
Does this help clarify?