Notifications
Clear all

Reform

11 Posts
4 Users
2 Likes
509 Views
LloydEaker
(@lloydeaker)
Active Member
Joined: 8 months ago
Posts: 7
Topic starter  

I believe that Reform my be given to any Formation as a Leader Action, with no die roll. I see nothing about distance or moving to the Formation so at any range. Two Fatigues may be removed for each unit removed from the Formation. The Formation remains under Reform until it is replaced by some other Directive or Status. The units of the Reforming Formation may move into Cohesion with the Regulating unit, which may not move. Is this movement immediately done during the Command Phase?

During the Movement step is the formation able to move any of its units, or to contact the enemy? (Since it is not listed in the movement order I presume it may not move at all.)

If the enemy contacts units of a Reforming Formation, is there any other affects?

Since a Defending Formation moves after an Attacking Formation it may move uncontacted units into contact after the Attacker has moved. So a Reforming Formation cannot do this?

 

This topic was modified 6 months ago by David

   
Quote
LloydEaker
(@lloydeaker)
Active Member
Joined: 8 months ago
Posts: 7
Topic starter  

Well, I miss typed the title on this.


   
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 406
 
Posted by: @lloydeaker

I believe that Reform my be given to any Formation as a Leader Action, with no die roll. I see nothing about distance or moving to the Formation so at any range. Two Fatigues may be removed for each unit removed from the Formation. The Formation remains under Reform until it is replaced by some other Directive or Status.

Correct.

Posted by: @lloydeaker

The units of the Reforming Formation may move into Cohesion with the Regulating unit, which may not move. Is this movement immediately done during the Command Phase?

Technically they may move closer to the Regulating Unit, I only specify this because the Units still must have the moment to get there and it is unlikely, but possible, they could be separated by too much distance/terrain to regain Cohesion if they start outside of it.

Yes, the movement is executed immediately, during the Command Phase.

Posted by: @lloydeaker

During the Movement step is the formation able to move any of its units, or to contact the enemy? (Since it is not listed in the movement order I presume it may not move at all.)

Also correct.

Posted by: @lloydeaker

If the enemy contacts units of a Reforming Formation, is there any other affects?

The Formation would still suffer a terrible Cohesion penalty (per 8.6). As far as impact on movement, Units conducting the allowed Reform movement during the Command Phase can't contact the enemy, and they aren't allowed movement during the Movement Phase. So the net-effect is they are in a horrible situation likely racking up significant Fatigue.

Edit: Also see the Reform [RM] Status in 2.4.3 and the corresponding Leader Action Reform & Reorganize is in 3.3.

Posted by: @lloydeaker

Since a Defending Formation moves after an Attacking Formation it may move uncontacted units into contact after the Attacker has moved. So a Reforming Formation cannot do this?

Correct.

A Reforming [RM] Formation is assumed to be spending all its efforts reorganizing and, in many circumstances, is kind of a sitting duck. It isn't defenseless, but its ability to respond is definitely lacking. Players don't want to use this with a front line Formation.

 

Good questions. We've updated the Errata to address a couple of these points.

 

PS

Posted by: @lloydeaker

Well, I miss typed the title on this.

No problem, corrected it for you!

This post was modified 6 months ago by David
This post was modified 3 months ago by David

-David


   
ReplyQuote
OldBob
(@oldbob)
Eminent Member
Joined: 8 months ago
Posts: 22
 

From page 64:

If a force commander places a unit into Reform does it lose any pending order?

If the force commander does not join the unit that he places into Reform status, he cannot issue a new order to that unit until the next turn. But if the force commander joins the unit during leader actions, he can issue the unit a new order, but cannot activate the order until the next turn. Is this correct?

Is there a limit on how many units a force commander can place into the reform status in a single leader action phase?

A force command can activate a pending order of a unit he takes personnel command of, or he can issue the unit a new order, but he cannot both issue the order and then activate it on the same turn during the leader action step?

 

 


   
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 406
 
Posted by: @oldbob

If a force commander places a unit into Reform does it lose any pending order?

A Status replaces the active order Directive (per 2.4) but a pending Directive isn't impacted.

Posted by: @oldbob

If the force commander does not join the unit that he places into Reform status, he cannot issue a new order to that unit until the next turn.

Correct, due to the turn sequence.

Posted by: @oldbob

But if the force commander joins the unit during leader actions, he can issue the unit a new order, but cannot activate the order until the next turn. Is this correct?

No, the Force Commander may both issue and activate an order Directive out-of-sequence while In Personal Command (per 3.2.1), so the Force Commander could do both in the same turn.

Posted by: @oldbob

Is there a limit on how many units a force commander can place into the reform status in a single leader action phase?

Do you mean Formations? No.

Posted by: @oldbob

A force command can activate a pending order of a unit he takes personnel command of, or he can issue the unit a new order, but he cannot both issue the order and then activate it on the same turn during the leader action step?

A Force Commander In Personal Command may do both, explicitly per 3.2.1.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
BRUNO REVEDEPLOMB
(@bruno-revedeplomb)
New Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 3
 

Hi everybody,

David wrote"The Formation would still suffer a terrible Cohesion penalty (per 8.6). As far as impact on movement, Units conducting the allowed Reform movement during the Command Phase can't contact the enemy, and they aren't allowed movement during the Movement Phase. So the net-effect is they are in a horrible situation likely racking up significant Fatigue."

I re read the chapter 8.6 and find no mention about REFORMING in ESR-3 only about reforming area. As English is not my maternal language I've probably miss something. I would be very happy if someone could explain me more in detail.

thanks a lot
Bruno


   
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 406
 
Posted by: @bruno-revedeplomb

I re read the chapter 8.6 and find no mention about REFORMING in ESR-3 only about reforming area. As English is not my maternal language I've probably miss something. I would be very happy if someone could explain me more in detail.

No problem, I believe I was quite unclear. You can find the Reform [RM] Status in 2.4.3 and the corresponding Leader Action Reform & Reorganize is in 3.3. I've also edited my early response to try and clarify.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
BRUNO REVEDEPLOMB
(@bruno-revedeplomb)
New Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 3
 

Thank you very much for the quick answer!

Could you please tell me if there is a specific malus for being in [RM] statut?

or could use the same factor that for reformation area threatened?

Best regard from France

Bruno

 

 

 


   
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 406
 
Posted by: @bruno-revedeplomb

Could you please tell me if there is a specific malus for being in [RM] statut?

No, there is not, my unclear reference early was to the fact that since the Formation is effectively stuck in place, an aggressive enemy could do a lot of damage. There is not a specific negative modifier as I indicated unintentionally.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
BRUNO REVEDEPLOMB
(@bruno-revedeplomb)
New Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 3
 

OK  all is clear !

By the way, congratulation for this rule version its realy fluid and seems realistic.

regards

Bruno


   
David reacted
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 406
 
Posted by: @bruno-revedeplomb

OK  all is clear !

I'm glad!

Posted by: @bruno-revedeplomb

By the way, congratulation for this rule version its realy fluid and seems realistic.

Thank you!

-David


   
ReplyQuote
Share: