Notifications
Clear all

Move directive conversions

2 Posts
2 Users
1 Likes
872 Views
LordHollier
(@lordhollier)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 20
Topic starter  

In 3.6.4 it says "A Formation on a Move directive that encounters an enemy may be allowed or required to convert to a Defend directive during the Order Conversion step of the Movement Phase."  (The emphasis is mine.)

I read this as meaning (or at least implying) that a Move to Defend order conversion can not happen during the Combat phase's Order Conversion steps.

Is that correct?

John H.


   
David reacted
Quote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 419
 

I read this as meaning (or at least implying) that a Move to Defend order conversion can not happen during the Combat phase's Order Conversion steps.

The rule was not intended to indicate that the conversion can not occur during the Combat Phase's Order Conversion step, simply that it must happen during an Order Conversion step and that there is one in Movement.

There is a corner case where reading it as you did could allow for different outcomes than reading it as intended, however, due to the turn sequence, generally speaking it will lead to the same outcomes either way.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
Share: