Notifications
Clear all

Leader actions


Steve Nutt
(@steve-nutt)
Eminent Member
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 30
Topic starter  

Hi David,

Really a clarification with this one.

Rule 3.8.1 tells you how to conduct leader actions. They can be issued withi do the same.thet

chain of command by army and/or force leaders. 

The rule says you can do as many of these as you want until you fail one, then you stop.

The rule says "...a failed test prevents the player from attempting additional Leader Action tests...."

So, we are playing Borodino. 3 players a side. I am Eugene. I roll a series of leader action tests for formations within my own IV corps. Then I fail one. So I can't go on to become Grouchy and start rolling leader action tests for III Reserve Cavalry Corps, i.e it's not the lead figures on the table doing the rolling it's me the flesh and blood player who has failed.

But, the Napoleon player could start rolling leader actions within my 2 corps command after I fail cos he is above me in the chain of command.

And, if more of us were playing, say one per corps, the Grouchy player could do the same.

Thanks in advance 

Steve Nutt.


Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 318
 

The rules assume there is one player per Force Commander (or Army Commander), so each Force Commander (or Army Commander) can attempt Leader Actions until it fails one, then that Force Commander is done performing Leader Actions for the term (unless they want to perform one that doesn't require a test, they can always do those).

Let me know if that clarifies!

-David


ReplyQuote
scottzimmerlee@comcast.net
(@scottzimmerleecomcast-net)
Active Member Customer
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 5
 

We've just started playing ESR, but our group is really enjoying it. I think I've got a pretty good understanding of the rules thanks to the available videos, this forum & facebook but I do have some questions. 

1. I know only force commanders can perform leader actions, but do you use both the formation commander's LR & the force commander's or just the force commander's?

2. Can fatigue be assigned as the controlling player sees fit (is to the battery last)?

3. What is the difference between 'Displace Unlimbered Battery' & 'Recall Committed Artillery Battery'?


ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 318
 
Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

We've just started playing ESR, but our group is really enjoying it. I think I've got a pretty good understanding of the rules thanks to the available videos, this forum & facebook but I do have some questions. 

Glad to hear you're enjoying it and happy to answer questions!

Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

1. I know only force commanders can perform leader actions, but do you use both the formation commander's LR & the force commander's or just the force commander's?

Yes, both the 'issuer' and 'receiver' contribute their modifiers, so if your Force Commander (you) have a Leadership Rating [LR] of C, you receive +1 on the roll, and if the target Formation has a Formation Commander with a Leadership Rating [LR] of B, then you receive an additional +2 for a net total of +3.

Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

2. Can fatigue be assigned as the controlling player sees fit (is to the battery last)?

Within some confines, yes the controlling player allocates Fatigue between troop classes, however, there are confines/restrictions on the choices. You can find particulars about this in 5.4.3 (when it relates to Artillery & Skirmishing), in 6.3.3 (when it relates to Combat Resolution), or 6.5.2 (when it relates to Combat Assessments). All of them largely boil down to that Fatigue must be allocated to a valid target of the enemy and/or participate, so a player may not assign Fatigue to a class that did not have Units participate or which were not valid targets.

Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

3. What is the difference between 'Displace Unlimbered Battery' & 'Recall Committed Artillery Battery'?

You can find these each in 3.8.6 (recall) and 3.8.7 (displace), but the short version is that 'recalling' immediately moves a committed artillery battery into the Formation's Reserve (and to get it out the player will need to 'commit' it again), while 'displace' simply limbers the committed battery in place allowing it to move during the next Movement step.

Hope these help!

-David


ReplyQuote
scottzimmerlee@comcast.net
(@scottzimmerleecomcast-net)
Active Member Customer
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 5
 

David,

Thanks for the quick reply. That does clear some of the last questions I had. 

Also, I noticed a typo on the 75:1 Quick Reference Guide. Under 'Order Activation & Leader Actions' the line stating 'Every 24" from Receiving Commander: -1' actually reads 'Every 24" yards from Receiving Commander: -1'. I believe the word yards is left over from when you converted this chart from the generic version. No other Quick Reference Guide has the typo.

Scott


David liked
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 318
 
Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

Also, I noticed a typo on the 75:1 Quick Reference Guide.

Thank you, I'll put it in the queue to be fixed!

-David


ReplyQuote
scottzimmerlee@comcast.net
(@scottzimmerleecomcast-net)
Active Member Customer
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 5
 

A couple more questions about Leader actions.

1. We played an 1809 game & Austrian VI Korps was in reserve behind two other korps, holding the center of the battlefield. When the Austrian right began to collapse, the player controlling Archduke Charles wanted to send 2 divisions of VI Korps to prop up that flank & leave 1 division in its initial placement. We understand that would be a change of objective for the force, but can a formation of the force be left behind? And just to make sure our understanding the rules, if this was a French corps, an AdC could be assigned a portion of a formation & given a new objective as a force of its own (like the 2 Btns of Guard which were sent to Placenoit to throw the Prussians occupying the town)?

2. Are corps guns assigned to a formation or are they an independent entity? The reason I ask, is that it seems a little murky to my way of thinking. If it joins a formation it does not generate its own 2d6 in skirmish & artillery combat, but lumps its fire points into the formation's, however it can then 'hide' in the formation allowing fatigue to be placed on other units. If it is not assigned to a formation, then it does receive the 2d6, but must suffer all of the fatigue itself. 

Please let me know if we have mastered these concepts or are way off base!


David liked
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 318
 
Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

When the Austrian right began to collapse, the player controlling Archduke Charles wanted to send 2 divisions of VI Korps to prop up that flank & leave 1 division in its initial placement. We understand that would be a change of objective for the force, but can a formation of the force be left behind? 

Alternatively, the Austrian *may* be able to get Formations where desired by giving them Support [S] directives, but to answer directly what you asked: Yes, the player could certainly choose to leave something on Reserve [R] or Defend [D] and neither would require that Formation to move at all, thus staying in place.

Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

And just to make sure our understanding the rules, if this was a French corps, an AdC could be assigned a portion of a formation & given a new objective as a force of its own (like the 2 Btns of Guard which were sent to Placenoit to throw the Prussians occupying the town)?

Dispatching an ADC effectively just replaces a Force or Formation Commander, it does not create a new Force or a new Formation. A player could use the ADC rule in conjunction with creating a Detachment to create a new Formation with the ADC as its Formation Commander, but it would still have the same Objective as its parent Force.

Alternatively, what you suggest is a perfectly legitimate scenario-specific rule.

Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

2. Are corps guns assigned to a formation or are they an independent entity?

The short answer is: They can be either, and they often have opportunity to be both. Going forward in the Series 3 edition of our Campaign Guides we are making this far more explicit as we've historically left it rather vague. With that said, in the ESR Second Edition Campaign Guides (i.e. softcovers), a title of "Available for Attachment" indicates the Units are not intended to be their own Formation, but available to be distributed pre-game or upon arrival to the battlefield to other Formations. Otherwise, they are a Formation of their own. However, there is an optional rule (see: 3.8.4) that allows a Leader Action to 'transfer' a battery from one Formation to another, so even in this case, they are distributable.

Posted by: @scottzimmerleecomcast-net

If it joins a formation it does not generate its own 2d6 in skirmish & artillery combat, but lumps its fire points into the formation's, however it can then 'hide' in the formation allowing fatigue to be placed on other units. If it is not assigned to a formation, then it does receive the 2d6, but must suffer all of the fatigue itself. 

You're not incorrect about the implications. A Formation of batteries alone is slightly more effective, however, it is also far more exposed and fragile.

-David


ReplyQuote
Share: