Notifications
Clear all

Activating Order Directives while in Personal Command

6 Posts
2 Users
3 Likes
1,090 Views
LordHollier
(@lordhollier)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 20
Topic starter  

David,

  On page 13, in the second paragraph 3.8.2 Take or Abandon Personal Command, it says "the Formation may be issued a new order and may test to activate that order any time during the Command Phase."

1) Is the act of "activating" the order under this rule treated like a Leader Action Test; i.e., if the test fails the commander may not perform any other Leader Actions?

2) If the commander has already changed the Formation's status from RT or BK to RR during this phase and Inspired them so their Fatigue is below the RT threshold, may he then issue and activate a new Order Directive versus waiting for the RR to automatically convert to D in the Movement Order Conversion phase?

3) If the activation test is NOT a Leader Action, can it be attempted after a commander has failed a Leader Activation Test?

Thanks

John H.


   
David reacted
Quote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 419
 

1) Is the act of "activating" the order under this rule treated like a Leader Action Test; i.e., if the test fails the commander may not perform any other Leader Actions?

No, it follows the normal order activation procedure, it just happens outside the normal sequence.

2) If the commander has already changed the Formation's status from RT or BK to RR during this phase and Inspired them so their Fatigue is below the RT threshold, may he then issue and activate a new Order Directive versus waiting for the RR to automatically convert to D in the Movement Order Conversion phase?

Yes.

3) If the activation test is NOT a Leader Action, can it be attempted after a commander has failed a Leader Activation Test?

Yes.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
LordHollier
(@lordhollier)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 20
Topic starter  

As a follow on ....

How does this line up with your statement "only one order conversion can happen in a step" in the topic "convert twice in the same step?"?

If the Formation is going from RT/BK to RR, and then the Force Commander is issuing & activating a new order during the same Command Phase, isn't that two conversions in one step?


   
David reacted
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 419
 

Activating an order by using the Order Activation and Leader Actions Test isn't the same as an Order Conversion. Order Conversions require no test and occur during the Order Conversion step(s) during either the Movement or Combat Phases.

So there isn't any conflict between the two because they necessarily can only occur in different steps.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
LordHollier
(@lordhollier)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 20
Topic starter  

But in my example, they are not occurring in different steps - they are both occurring in the Leader Actions step.


   
David reacted
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 419
 

But in my example, they are not occurring in different steps - they are both occurring in the Leader Actions step.

Looking back:

2) If the commander has already changed the Formation's status from RT or BK to RR during this phase and Inspired them so their Fatigue is below the RT threshold, may he then issue and activate a new Order Directive versus waiting for the RR to automatically convert to D in the Movement Order Conversion phase?

Understood.

Good catch.

You are correct, both the conversion to Rally & Reform [RR] status and the option to issue and activate a Defend [D] directive would be occurring in the same step. With that said, one of them is considered to be a conversion (requiring no test), while the other is considered an Order Activation (requiring a test). I *believe* this is the only combination where a conversion and an activation could occur in the same step, though there could be another.

-David


   
ReplyQuote
Share: