Notifications
Clear all

Ployed Formation


Ravn
 Ravn
(@ravn)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 28
Topic starter  

Just having a test game. An Austrian cavalry formation got caught by a french cavalry formation while deploying. After threat assesment, the Austrian formation had 2 fatigue with 3 units deployed and +1 cohesion from the cmd, so 4 cohesion.

It was now forced to convert to withdraw during status/recovery and is supposed to make a half-move away from the threat (the french cavalry formation).

But how? I’m not assuming the ployed part of the formation can back down the road (it was blocked anyway by an infantry division coming up). Do you move to the side? Does the formation just collapse? 😅

Thanks! 


Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 392
 
Posted by: @ravn

But how? I’m not assuming the ployed part of the formation can back down the road (it was blocked anyway by an infantry division coming up). Do you move to the side?

The deployed Units can face the enemy and the ployed portion has to remain Cohesive with the deployed Units, so yes, assuming that "to the side" takes it directly away from Threat, it can do that.

-David


ReplyQuote
Ravn
 Ravn
(@ravn)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 28
Topic starter  

@david That’s what we ended up doing, keeping the ployed part of the formation still ployed.

Love the flow of the rules. It really forces you to think ahead. Thanks for the quick reply.

A follow-up question. Say the combat losses had routed instead of retired as was the case. Do you then send them back behind the ployed part of the formation behind the reformation area?


ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 392
 
Posted by: @ravn

Say the combat losses had routed instead of retired as was the case. Do you then send them back behind the ployed part of the formation behind the reformation area?

"To the Reformation Area", so yes, directly adjacent to it.

Posted by: @ravn

That’s what we ended up doing, keeping the ployed part of the formation still ployed.

Perfect.

Posted by: @ravn

Love the flow of the rules. It really forces you to think ahead. Thanks for the quick reply.

No problem! And glad to hear!

-David


ReplyQuote
Share: