[Solved] Multiple combats by a unit?  

  RSS

Bishnak1
(@bishnak1)
New Member
Joined: 9 months ago
Posts: 4
19/05/2019 5:07 am  

Hi guys,

I’ve just started with the rules and as I work my way through them have a few questions:

Do two opposing units keep fighting if they maintain combat? I had the situation today where cavalry was fighting cavalry. On a result of 4+ difference in combat, the loser retires 450 yards and the winner advances 450 yards. It is clear that if the winner advances into a new unit (eg. from a supporting line), they fight again. But if they advance into the same (retiring) opponent, then do they then again? It seems to me that if they do that this could result in many combats between the same units, back and forth?

bish


David liked
Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 243
19/05/2019 9:37 am  

But if they advance into the same (retiring) opponent, then do they then again?

Yes, any contact results in a Combat Resolution.

It seems to me that if they do that this could result in many combats between the same units, back and forth?

It can, this is an area where what is going on is abstracted and "the dice tell the tale", potentially the initial loser retires but subsequently puts up a strong enough front the initial winner is turned back. There are also times the initial loser continues to lose and is driven off by an initial winner who is effectively pursuing.

-David


ReplyQuote
F_rendla@hotmail.com
(@f_rendlahotmail-com)
Active Member Customer
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 18
09/12/2019 6:32 pm  

So, if a unit loses a combat and retires behind a support unit and the winner advances to the support and repeats a victory with a loser's retire result, the winner with a breakthrough could re-engage the original opposing unit? So, if there is a backward leap-frog effect does it stop when the losers' reformation area is contacted by retiring loser  or the even the breakthrough winner? Or is the reformation areas moved to accommodate the space of the combat since it is a representation of the division HQ area?


ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 243
09/12/2019 6:50 pm  
Posted by: @f_rendlahotmail-com

So, if a unit loses a combat and retires behind a support unit and the winner advances to the support and repeats a victory with a loser's retire result, the winner with a breakthrough could re-engage the original opposing unit?

Correct.

Posted by: @f_rendlahotmail-com

So, if there is a backward leap-frog effect does it stop when the losers' reformation area is contacted by retiring loser  or the even the breakthrough winner?

I think there is a typo here, so please clarify/correct me if I misunderstand. Yes, a winning Unit continues to breakthrough until it does not contact an enemy via its compulsory breakthrough move, or it doesn't achieve a combat resolution result that allows it to breakthrough again. A Reformation Area contacted by the enemy is frozen (per 4.2.3) and since a Reformation Area doesn't "fight back", no Combat Resolution is performed and the enemy in contact with it remains in contact with it. This does trigger Assessments during subsequent Artillery & Skirmishing Phases and Combat Phases (per 5.4, 6.5). If there are any routed Units in the Reformation Area when it is contacted, those would resolve combat (per 6.3.1).

Posted by: @f_rendlahotmail-com

Or is the reformation areas moved to accommodate the space of the combat since it is a representation of the division HQ area?

It isn't actually the headquarters, technically I suppose the HQ would be represented by the Formation Commander. The Reformation Area is moved anytime the Formation moves to maintain its location respective to its Formation, however, if it is contacted – it can't move, it becomes frozen. This also traps the Formation to a degree, since the Reformation Area must be within 900 yards of the Formation, Units can't voluntarily move farther away than that if the Reformation Area is frozen. NOTE: If a Formation gets a Retreat [RT] or Break [BK] status, it relocates along with its Reformation Area since this is an involuntary movement.

-David


ReplyQuote
F_rendla@hotmail.com
(@f_rendlahotmail-com)
Active Member Customer
Joined: 11 months ago
Posts: 18
09/12/2019 9:46 pm  

Thanks for the clarification. I remember now about the enemy making contact with the reformation and the consequences. But if a friendly unit is forced to retire contacts the the reformation area are there any consequences?


David liked
ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 243
09/12/2019 9:48 pm  
Posted by: @f_rendlahotmail-com

But if a friendly unit is forced to retire contacts the the reformation area are there any consequences?

No, a friendly Unit which gets a 'retire' result in combat resolution doesn't suffer any negative penalties if that causes it to "bump" into the Reformation Area, only if the Unit gets a 'rout' result would it suffer a penalty.

-David


ReplyQuote
Share: