Notifications
Clear all

Cavalry conversions


hexham
(@hexham)
Active Member
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 8
Topic starter  

Hi David,

we had our first try of version 3 last night and obviously had a few things come out of it we need clearing up.

The main question involved a French dragoon division charging a Prussian mixed brigade.  The first 3 stands of the dragoon’s contacted and fought the screening landwher cavalry (we gave them a contact factor of 2).  Both sides inflicted 1 fatigue and the Prussians suffers 1 combat loss (retired on a 2-6).  Looking at the following conversion phase it appeared the French were then obliged to withdraw.  is this correct? If so what is the rationale as the dragoon’s till had the bulk of their division uncommitted.

 

looking forward to your reply.

 

shaun


Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 366
 
Posted by: @hexham

Looking at the following conversion phase it appeared the French were then obliged to withdraw.  is this correct? If so what is the rationale as the dragoon’s till had the bulk of their division uncommitted.

I assume the French Division de Dragons were compelled to Convert to Withdraw [W] in the Conversion Step of the Combat Phase because they were in contact with the Prussian Mixed Brigade? If that's correct, away we go! The rationale is:

Summary: The cycle (Convert to Attack [A], Withdraw [W], Defend[D], repeat) allows players to throw cavalry against the enemy, have them bounce off, reorganize, and go in again if desired (and able). It also differentiates Cavalry from Infantry in how they hold ground (or don't).

Details: Cavalry can't hold ground and won't stay in contact with an enemy that Threatens them, so if the enemy is still there after Combat's Threat Assessment, the Cavalry will Convert to Withdraw [W] in order to fallback outside the enemy's Threat – akin to what you may think of as a 'recall'. During the next Conversion Step (probably, though not necessarily the following turn's Movement Phase), the Cavalry Formation will Convert to Defend [D] if not Threatened (if Threatened it would remain on Withdraw [W] and do so until it gets out of the enemy's Threat Zone). The Cavalry Formation could then subsequently Convert to Attack [A] against the enemy during the Combat Phase's Conversion Step, assuming the target was still there and valid.

Let me know if that helps!

-David


rtaylor liked
ReplyQuote
Share: