Notifications
Clear all

Assessments and Status Checks after Combat


niggle
(@niggle)
Active Member
Joined: 9 months ago
Posts: 18
Topic starter  

1. The rules are clear that each Formation must take an Assessment immediately its units have finished combat.  In a game I was playing today a Formation did this and the units of the opposing side then continued their combat against a different Formation.  During this combat against the second Formation a break through move brought them once again into contact with the first enemy formation, resulting in further combat.  I treated this as a separate combat and the first Formation therefore had to do a second Assessment. Was this correct?

2.  At what point are Status Checks performed in Combat? Does each Formation do a Status Check immediately after it does an Assessment or are Status Checks performed only after all combat and all Assessments are complete?  My reading of the rules is that it is the latter but it can make a huge difference, so I thought it wise to check, especially as Status Checks are not listed separately in the turn sequence in the Quick Reference Guide, making me wonder if it might be just part of the Assessment.

Thank you


David liked
Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 316
 
Posted by: @niggle

1. The rules are clear that each Formation must take an Assessment immediately its units have finished combat.

A point to clarify that is not obvious from your example: Once *no* Units of a Formation are in contact with the enemy. Thus, if Formation A is in contact with enemy Formations X and Y, A will not perform an Assessment until it has no Units in contact with either X or Y. But, whichever enemy Formation (X or Y) resolves combat first against A, will assess immediately upon no Units being in contact with A.

Posted by: @niggle

During this combat against the second Formation a break through move brought them once again into contact with the first enemy formation, resulting in further combat.  I treated this as a separate combat and the first Formation therefore had to do a second Assessment. Was this correct?

Yes.

Posted by: @niggle

2.  At what point are Status Checks performed in Combat? Does each Formation do a Status Check immediately after it does an Assessment or are Status Checks performed only after all combat and all Assessments are complete?  My reading of the rules is that it is the latter but it can make a huge difference, so I thought it wise to check, especially as Status Checks are not listed separately in the turn sequence in the Quick Reference Guide, making me wonder if it might be just part of the Assessment.

The Status Check is actually intended to be performed as each Assessment is done, which means a line can potentially have cascading failures as the Formation off another's flank going onto a Retreat [RT] or Break [BK] will impact its subsequent Assessment. Most of the time, in smaller games, there won't be a lot of overlapping and linked Combat Resolutions, so this is not materially different from doing all Status Checks afterwards, but, in the case there are any overlapped or linked resolutions, you're right, it is very important as there will be impacts across the table.

-David


ReplyQuote
niggle
(@niggle)
Active Member
Joined: 9 months ago
Posts: 18
Topic starter  

Thank your clarifying those points.  In the light of the fact that Status Checks are carried out as part of the Assessment there is a further issue I would like your guidance on.  The Assessment modifiers include -1 for being within 450 yards of a friendly formation with RT status and -3 for being within 900 yards of a friendly formation with BK status.  I note however that a Formation that reaches RT will move 900 yards from the enemy and a Formation that reaches BK will move 1,800 yards from the enemy.  This means that it is very likely that RT and BK formations will be outside of the ranges that cause those modifiers at the point when a neighbouring friendly Formation has to take an Assessment, making the cascading effect of failures less likely.  Should those Assessment modifiers be applied if a friendly Formation reached RT/BK status during the current Combat phase when it was within 450/900 yards and regardless of where it ended up after pulling back? 


ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 316
 
Posted by: @niggle

This means that it is very likely that RT and BK formations will be outside of the ranges that cause those modifiers at the point when a neighbouring friendly Formation has to take an Assessment, making the cascading effect of failures less likely.  Should those Assessment modifiers be applied if a friendly Formation reached RT/BK status during the current Combat phase when it was within 450/900 yards and regardless of where it ended up after pulling back? 

Correct, it does make it less likely due to the distances Formations must move away from the enemy, and the intention is that it is the proximity at the time the Assessment is done. One thing to remember is that the Reformation Area is part of the Formation, thus if a friend next to a Formation Retreats [RT] they may possibly still be within 450 of the Formation's Reformation Area when it assesses. 

-David


ReplyQuote
niggle
(@niggle)
Active Member
Joined: 9 months ago
Posts: 18
Topic starter  

Thanks, David. That is really helpful.


ReplyQuote
Share: