Notifications
Clear all

Artillery Rout & Retire


denny
(@denny)
Eminent Member
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 27
Topic starter  

Hi, I have a few rules questions to confirm please?

Does artillery that receives a rout result in combat resolution also have a marker put in the reformation area and need to be rallied in order to return, the same as infantry and cavalry units?

When a retire combat resolution result is received by one or more artillery batteries and the battery is placed adjacent to the reformation area, I expect that it can't fire until it has first been moved to the formation reserve and then re committed using leader actions.

Can the infantry and cavalry units that retire face in any direction at the end of their retire moves, and can the infantry still fire next turn (provided the assessment result this turn doesn't cause its parent formation to retreat or break.


David liked
Quote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 318
 
Posted by: @denny

Does artillery that receives a rout result in combat resolution also have a marker put in the reformation area and need to be rallied in order to return, the same as infantry and cavalry units?

Routed artillery is removed. But artillery that retires and goes to the Reformation Area is marked and must be rallied the same as infantry and cavalry, yes.

Posted by: @denny

When a retire combat resolution result is received by one or more artillery batteries and the battery is placed adjacent to the reformation area, I expect that it can't fire until it has first been moved to the formation reserve and then re committed using leader actions.

Correct, only committed, unlimbered artillery resolves fire.

Posted by: @denny

Can the infantry and cavalry units that retire face in any direction at the end of their retire moves, and can the infantry still fire next turn (provided the assessment result this turn doesn't cause its parent formation to retreat or break.

Yes.

-David


ReplyQuote
denny
(@denny)
Eminent Member
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 27
Topic starter  

Thanks David,

"Routed artillery is removed. But artillery that retires and goes to the Reformation Area is marked and must be rallied the same as infantry and cavalry, yes".

Sorry, just to clarify. does that agree with these statements:-

p55 Retire paragraph says that artillery that retires is placed adjacent to the reformation area and must be rallied to return to the formation reserve area.

p55, the rout paragraph, says that routed units  are temporarily removed from the tabletop and a marker is placed in the reformation area. Routed units must be rallied. - and does this remove and place marker also apply to routed artillery?

 

 


ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 318
 

@denny,

The clarification I was making is that artillery that routs is removed from the game, vs temporarily removed while in the Reformation Area, in effect, the negative results for artillery are one step worse than those of infantry and cavalry. Don't have the citation handy as I generally try to provide one when answering such.

-David


ReplyQuote
denny
(@denny)
Eminent Member
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 27
Topic starter  

ok , I think I have understood that now.

(not trying to catch you out by the way lol)

 

thanks for the reply


ReplyQuote
Share: