Notifications
Clear all

Commiting artillery from reserve


MarshalLindy
(@marshallindy)
New Member
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 3
Topic starter  

Just started playing version three. In leader actions you can commit artillery and if successful moves immediately to a cohesive location. I don't find an explanation for that term (cohesive location). Can you move a successfully committed artillery directly into the treat area of an enemy and unlimber?


Quote
Topic Tags
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 366
 
Posted by: @marshallindy

Just started playing version three.

Fantastic!

Posted by: @marshallindy

In leader actions you can commit artillery and if successful moves immediately to a cohesive location.

You'll find it in 5.2.1.Required Cohesion, but the short answer is that Units are Cohesive when within 225 yards of another Unit or within 900 yards of the parent Formation's Reformation Area.

Posted by: @marshallindy

Can you move a successfully committed artillery directly into the treat area of an enemy and unlimber?

Yes. Unlimbering is "free" in that it costs no movement (5.2.6.Unlimbering/Limbering Artillery), so when you Commit an Artillery Battery you may move it and either unlimber it or leave it limbered, but in either case, yes, you may move it into the Threat Zone of the enemy, or may move it somewhere that places the enemy in its Threat Zone.

-David


ReplyQuote
MarshalLindy
(@marshallindy)
New Member
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 3
Topic starter  

Thank you.


ReplyQuote
MarshalLindy
(@marshallindy)
New Member
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 3
Topic starter  

can you halt all movement for a ployed formation until you deploy the entire formation?


ReplyQuote
David
(@david)
Designer Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 366
 
Posted by: @marshallindy

can you halt all movement for a ployed formation until you deploy the entire formation?

Short answer: No.

Longer answer: On an active Attack [A] Directive a Formation may choose not to move and instead deploy as many Units as possible, *if* it is fully ployed. On subsequent turns it will be required to move normally.

So, in short: Don't activate an Attack [A] Directive until you're ready to go (or you're OK with whatever will deploy in one turn).

A Move [M] Directive is going to Convert once Threatened… so circumstantially it may have the opportunity, but it is risky. Really you want to target where you want to deploy and where you want to fight and implement the two decisions separately but in coordination..

This post was modified 2 months ago by David

-David


ReplyQuote
Share: